Getting to G minor

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Pipa
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a beginner looking into the Irish flute. I would like to post a WTB ad for a Casey Burns small hand folk flute since they are not made any more.

Getting to G minor

Post by Pipa »

I am hoping to pick up the Irish flute and plan to start with the usual approach, i.e. a keyless flute in D. So far, so good. As it happens I am a former fiddle player — ”former” because I broke my elbow, which is why I am looking for a new instrument.

I am coming from Swedish music, so I don’t know ITM at all but am willing to explore it. However I am pretty sure that I will eventually want to play my previous (Swedish) repertoire now and then, which brings me to the problem of key signatures and associated flute hardware. I was an ear player and have never understood music theory, but I do know that my favorite Swedish fiddle tunes tend to be in G minor.

I am wondering if getting a 6-key or 8-key flute in D would enable me to play comfortably in G minor down the road, or if the usual practice is to bring along a whistle in a different key for that?
tstermitz

Re: Getting to G minor

Post by tstermitz »

G minor might mean two flats, or it might mean one flat, i.e. G-dorian. The Dorian modes are quite common in ITM, but I don't know that much about Swedish music. If I recall, Swedish music also uses lots of accidentals.

Yes, you will need 6 or 8 keys to play outside of the key of G (one sharp) or D (two sharps). 8 keys if you want to play the low C note, which comes up relatively frequently in G-minor/G-dorian tunes. You can fold the note, but I think you should look at scores for the Swedish music you like in order see how what the keys are.