Cheap and dirty keypads

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Cheap and dirty keypads

Post by PB+J »

Ok this is bad I admit. But it works.

A while ago I bought an old eight key wooden flute of unknown origin on ebay. I've been gradually getting to know it and learning about the instrument by fixing it up. I don't think it's designed to play at A 440, because when I get the G in tune everything else goes south in a hurry. But if I set the stopper where it's supposed to be and set the tuning slide more or less in the middle it plays a Ab of wavering uncertainty. I took the old cork out--it was all bollixed up with glue, but when I took it off and cleaned it it had a working screw mechanism for adjusting the cork. I made a new stopper and have been experimenting with placement. Need to be more systematic

The keys mostly leaked so I've had most of the holes filled with tack-it. I was looking around for something that might work as a pad and voila--foam earplugs. They cut easily and they're tapered, so you can easily get them to the size of the key cup. Hot glue holds them in place. At least this way I can get used to what the keys actually do. I have a ton of them in my workshop--theyre' cheap and the purple ones don't look too garish.

I'm still not sure how much work this flute is worth. It has a nice patina of age and it's a pleasure to play--sweet and not too loud--when it's in tune that is. But it's got all kinds of problems, like the brass tube lining the head moves out of position easily. That can't be good!

It's fun though and I'm going slow and learning
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1