3rd Octave Fingering with Michael Cronally Polymer Flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Ingheanrae
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

3rd Octave Fingering with Michael Cronally Polymer Flute

Post by Ingheanrae »

I'm relatively new to ITM but not to the Boehm flute but would appreciate some advice from someone who is a seasoned user of the M&E Polymer keyless flute. The flute is in tune with itself pretty well in the first two octaves with a little embouchure tweaking. Although I do find that the tuning slide is only pulled out by 3mm.

I've looked at various threads and web pages for the 3rd octave fingerings on irish wooden flute and it seems there are different fingerings for different makes of flute. With tuner to hand I have tried some of the 3rd octave fingerings suggested elsewhere but have got quite different notes from the flute. I've increased air speed and tightened embouchure with some success and this is the best fingering I've found.

a slightly sharp C nat using X0X XX0
C#6 using X0X X00 or 000 XXX
I can get a D6 0XX 000(slightly flat) , XXX XXX or by overblowing XXX (both almost bang on in tune)
A slightly flat E6 using XX0 0X0
No F# using any fingering
A pretty spot-on G6 using X0X 0X0
No A6 or B6

Now these seem to be quite unfriendly fingerings for playing at any speed so I would like to hear from anyone who has one of these flutes and has identified some sensible fingering and embouchure combination for the third octave....please for the sake of my poor family :lol: .

Thank you in anticipation
megapop

Re: 3rd Octave Fingering with Michael Cronally Polymer Flute

Post by megapop »

Hi Ingheanrae, I'm not exactly seasoned, but I think for a really feasible 3rd octave you need keys, especially the E♭ one... anyway, here are my fingerings on the M&E:
  • Cnat oxo xxo (xox xxo is actually way flat on my flute... strange!)
  • C♯ oxx xoo or ooo xxx
  • D oxx ooo