Turkish Cumbus For ITM?

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
TD997
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I just got into Tin whistles and thought it'd be good to join and see other people's opinions and thoughts so that I can learn from them.

Turkish Cumbus For ITM?

Post by TD997 »

Does anyone play the Turkish Cumbus? i bought a standard 12 string fretless model on a whim, but i find it to be quite suitable for irish tunes! its very easy to play in the keys of D and G in its standard tuning (ABEADG). ADEADG is another tuning that might be well suited for it, though i havent messed around with that tuning much. The Cumbus is quite affordable (200-300ish USD) so I'd love to see more people playing it, especially in ITM!
PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: Turkish Cumbus For ITM?

Post by PB+J »

fretless AND double coursed? That's an intonation/tuning disaster waiting to happen.
benhall.1
Tell us something.: I'm a fiddler and, latterly, a fluter. I love the flute. I wish I'd always played it. I love the whistle as well. I'm blessed in having really lovely instruments for all of my musical interests.
Location: Unimportant island off the great mainland of Europe

Post by benhall.1 »

I don't remember hearing about this instrument before. I just watched The Hollies playing Stop! Stop! Stop! Fretted, but recognisably the same instrument. I wonder where they got the idea for using that from?
Nanohedron
Moderatorer
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Post by Nanohedron »