Forgive me

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Forgive me

Post by PB+J »

I'm posting a link to my biography of Francis O'Neill, which is coming out very soon from the University of Chicago Press. I got a few physical copies last Monday.

https://press.uchicago.edu/ucp/books/bo ... 22232.html

It's as much a history of O'Neill as a human actor as it is a history of collecting, and I tried to write it in an accessible and non-academic way, but it's the product of years of serious research and it's been through two rounds of blind peer review to attest to accuracy and plausibility. There are some nice blurbs for the book on the press web site--I agree with them!

He was a complex and fascinating man.

Nanohedron
Moderatorer
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Re: Forgive me

Post by Nanohedron »

Congratulations. :)
"If you take music out of this world, you will have nothing but a ball of fire." - Tribal musician
brianholton
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by brianholton »

Congratulations! Great title, too.
Lonyy
Tell us something.: I want to be a part of Chiff and Fipple community, so I am registering now. I am here because I fond of music instruments, especially flute and others. Now I can play the piano and the guitar, and flute is the new instrument for me.

Post by Lonyy »

Congratulations! I an sure this book is awesome :) He is a great man, so it is important to know his story.
Flyingcursor