roadside memorial near glenties

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

roadside memorial near glenties

Post by PB+J »

Came across this while driving to glenties this morning from lifford. Memorializing Mickey Doherty I think

The message suggests he did something mighty to a panda. I might be getting that wrong...
Mr.Gumby

Re: roadside memorial near glenties

Post by Mr.Gumby »

This monument is built in the shape of the gable end of a traditional cottage and is built on the site of a locally famous incident where Mickey had a close brush with death. Before Ireland gained Independence from Britain the Black and Tans were patrolling the area and a very strict military curfew was in force. Mickey was out on the road since he made his living as a travelling tinsmith. He timed things rather badly that night though and was caught out after curfew. He heard the Black and Tan’s truck on the road and figured out who it must be and hid in a culvert under the road. The Black and Tans spotted him however and pulled him out from his hiding place. He protested his innocence of any wrongdoing and since a tinsmith on the face of it did not seem to be a threat to the British Empire, they told him to prove who he was. So on the spot Mickey got out his toolkit and made a tin mug or pandai as they are called locally. This monument to Mickey Doherty is built on the spot where this incident happened. Josie Campbell has carved a stone fiddle which is set into this tribute to a local musical hero.
Several items made by Mickey Doherty are in the collection of the National Museum in Castlebar, including a mug/pandai : here
My brain hurts

PB+J