Question about irish grass

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Question about irish grass

Post by PB+J »

In my research of Francis O'Neill I came cross a remarkable passage. O'Neill has spent the night in the wreckage of the Iroquois Theater fire, a horrible catastrophe in which 600 people died. O'Neill himself helped disentangle the dead and charred bodies and in some cases, working by lantern light in thick smoke, pulled still-living people from under corpses piled five to eight feet high. Just awful.

He told reporters "If you ever saw a field of Timothy grass blown flat by the wind and rain of a summer storm, that was the position of the dead at the exits of the second balcony."

This to me is really remarkable, that he chose an image of grass blown down by summer storm and rain to described the charnel house scene of dead bodies what had been a lavish theater. The fire took place in late December, when the temperature outside was very cold. It seems to me he was tempering the memory by combining the pastoral image of wind blown grass with the grotesque memory of the dead in the theater.

Timothy grass is considered native to Ireland, and the internet also tells me it's called féar capaill in Irish, which I take to mean something like "horse grass." Timothy hay is certainly used for fodder and he very likely would have seen it growing on farms outside of Chicago, so it might not be an Irish thing.