playing well with others

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
davidc

Post by davidc »

Hi! I've just discovered Chiff & Fipple, and am hoping for some advice. I've been tootling for about 10 years, and last year a friend asked me to sit in with his band for their St. Patrick's Day gigs. He said he liked my "wild, raw sound", which I thought was a very kind way of putting it. The fiddler wasn't so pleased. He kept asking me to play quieter. I explained that quieter meant flatter or an octave lower. He suggested that I could stuff foreign objects in my whistle's bore. I thought of making a counter-suggestion, and thought better of it. It seemed to me from this limited experience that because my whistle is so shrill, it can be very hard to blend in with the other instruments in a small room, whereas in larger rooms people were saying the sound was getting lost. Can anybody give me more thoughts on this?
Question 2: Because the band was wanting my melodies to stay mostly in my 2nd octave, I was forced up into my 3rd octive more than I have been used to. I found some alternative fingerings that are fairly stable, but I have since noticed that my cat has developed some nervous disorders. Is this normal? Are there orniments or note substitutions that people can recommend to take the edge off? Or should I just say, "Damn the small animals, full speed ahead!"? What is the ethical position of Chiff & Fipple on this?
jim_mc
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a New York native who gradually slid west and landed in the Phoenix area. I like riding on the back seat of a tandem bicycle. I like dogs and have three of them. I am a sometime actor and an all the time teacher, husband, and dad.

Post by jim_mc »

Well, David, only a Kerryman plays in the third octave, and then only outdoors.