Mellow Dog or Cillian O'Briain?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Mellow Dog or Cillian O'Briain?

Post by Mikethebook »

I wonder can those of you who have both the Freeman Mellow Dog and the O'Briain Improved compare them for me in terms of tone, loudness, playability etc, including ease of playing in the upper second octave. I'm trying to make a choice between them. Thanks.
maki

Re: Mellow Dog or Cillian O'Briain?

Post by maki »

The Mellowdog is louder with a strong bottom end and a nice chiffy sound.
The Mellowdog C is a particularly fun one.

The Cillian O'Brian is sweeter, slightly quiter, with a nicer top end.

I love them both.
Though now, I have other whistle that I play more often.
Mikethebook
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Post by Mikethebook »

Thanks for that maki. Does the O'Briain require minimal air at the bottom end in order for it to have an easier top end?
benhall.1