In Search of the Optimum Bore

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

In Search of the Optimum Bore

Post by hans »

Warning: the following is rather technical!

Can there be such a thing as an optimal bore size for a whistle, relative to its key? Tastes for certain tonal characteristics vary, some prefer narrower, some wider whistles for various situations.

I used to think that wide and narrow bore can be expressed by the length to bore ratio, but not any more. Now for me "wide" and "narrow" is just relative to what I use as "standard". Obviously that is subjective, and also depends on suitable tubing I found.

But underneath is a more fundamental problem about scaling into different keys. To build whistles with similar tonal characteristic in different keys larger whistles in lower keys need to be a bit narrower than simple proportional scaling would suggest. In other word: the length/bore ratio is becoming larger with larger whistles.

This is well known to organ builders. Some have used a scaling method called "Normalmensur" for hundreds of years, in which the 17th pipe in a chromatic scale has half the width of the first pipe (called 16th halving ratio) (see for instance http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Organ_flue_pipe_scaling).

I studied this a bit and found that from my experience experimenting with a variety of tubing for various whistle keys the 16th halving ratio was a lot better than a 12th halving ratio (octave pipe has half the width), but not quite optimal. I think a 15th halving ratio is better. I draw consolation from the fact that many organ builders did not adhere to a 16th halving scheme, and many organs are build with narrower ratios.