Elfsong Impressions (long)

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Redwolf
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by Redwolf »

I was going to wait until the weekend to post this, because I wanted to spend some time getting to know my new whistle under a variety of conditions...learn its nuances and, if any "bugs" were found, work them out before posting my "impressions." I've been lucky enough to find plenty of time to play this week, however (I've given this pretty thing quite a workout in just four days!), and my weekend's likely to be a bit frantic, so I see no reason not to just go ahead and do it now, while I have the time.

First, a disclaimer: I am not a professional, but merely someone who plays for my own pleasure (with perhaps a bit of busking on the side), so you can take my comments with as many grains of salt as you like (frankly, I think you should do so with any review). Further, this is my first "high-end" whistle, so I can't tell you how it stacks up against your Copeland or Overton or Sindt. Preferences are highly subjective anyway (and, as Madeleine L'Engle is fond of saying "comparisons are odious"). I can tell you that I have played various types of whistles and recorders for about 25 years, and been involved in music for longer than that...I have a good ear, and I know what I like. Beyond that, you'll have to judge for yourself.