Whistles and Tinnitus

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Raggle Taggle
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Whistles and Tinnitus

Post by Raggle Taggle »

New beginner here - about 1 month of pure fun!

I suffer, as many do, from Tinnitus (Insert joke here "Why would you need to play a whistle, when you have you own internal whistle?" LOL.)

I have quiet whistes - Ssshh tweaked Gen, Dixon Trad and Freeman Blackbird. They still sound loud to me particularly that second octave. It is hard to say if the whistles excaberate my Tinnitus or not at this point since i have had fairly consistant ringing for several years. Are there other whistlers with any experiences with T that has worsened over time because of their playing?

And in general, are there concerns about hearing loss in the whistle community? Are ear plugs used to any degree?
crookedtune

Re: Whistles and Tinnitus

Post by crookedtune »

Unfortunately, yes, I acquired 'T' about eight years ago due to an ear infection, (I think). The right ear rings always. It's not really distracting, but noticeable if I stop and listen. Once in a while it kind of rages for a minute or so. Usually I don't pay any attention.

My experience has been that playing whistle alone doesn't bother me. After a concert, session, or using headphones, (such as my mp3-player at the gym), I'll often have a heightened sense of ringing, and it may take a half hour to settle down.

I count my blessings in that it hasn't changed much over the years. Hopefully it'll remain stable. I have started taking a vitamin supplement that's targeted at T-sufferers, but I think it's probably pretty bogus.

Standard disclaimer: Just relaying my own experience. Don't take this in the form of medical advice!
Charlie Gravel

“I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying.”
― Oscar Wilde
Tommy

Post by Tommy »