Im New, Help me!

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
The2ndgarpo
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by The2ndgarpo »

Good day, Im just getting into playing whistles. I got interested in the whistle from listening to spider stacy play. As a huge pogues fan i thought how much i would love to play the whistle. On a suggestion from thewhistleshop.com I just purchased a sweetone D as well as a waltons nickel D whistle. The problem is that i dont know how to read music. Can anyone suggest any pointers to help me off to an effective start? Your help is greatly appreciated! thanks, Garp

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: The2ndgarpo on 2001-08-20 02:35 ]</font>
raindog1970
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Post by raindog1970 »

Nice to see another Shane MacGowan/Pogues fan on this board!
Spider Stacy was my inspiration for taking up the tin whistle too.
You'll be needing a C whistle as well as a D if you're going to be playing along with The Pogues CDs.
As for recommending good a tutorial, I am using You Can Teach Yourself Tinwhistle (Tutorial and CD).
The only complaint I have is that all the songs in the book aren't on the CD... but most of them are.
I couldn't read a note of sheet music when I started, but I'm making steady progress with the book.
The real problem you're going to have is finding Pogues sheet music... and I've never been able to find any with the whistle parts in it.
You should find the following website useful because it has the lyrics and guitar chords for almost every Pogues song.
<A HREF=http://www.vaxxine.com/mtbhl/pogues.htm ... es.html</A>
One of these days I'm going to have to start transcribing Spider's whistle parts and make them available on a website.
Until then, I guess you'll just have to learn them by ear.
If you happen to find any sheet music with Spider's whistle parts in it, please let me know where I can find it.