Playing with other people...

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
PallasAthena
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Playing with other people...

Post by PallasAthena »

I have some experience playing music with other people, but not ITM. I've always been very nervous playing in front of people, so that really doesn't help. And now that I actually occasionally play with one or two other people, I'm finding myself completely lost. I know it is not uncommon for your best playing by yourself to be a slightly better than your playing in front of others, but I find that there is a HUGE difference. I thought playing without music as much as possible would be best becasue it's one less thing to worry about, but I tend to get nervous and forget even tunes I know well. Playing with music obviously helps with this, but it's rather irratating. And then there's hte getting lost for no apparent reason and misidentifying the tune that's being played...I really don't see why this is so confusing, but some how it is.
Guinness

Post by Guinness »

Playing in group situations also requires practice.
Last edited by Guinness on Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
jemtheflute
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by jemtheflute »

See Diane (sbfluter)'s thread on a similar point over on the Flute Forum! What you describe is (as you clearly realise) a common phenomenon that afflicts us all from time to time, whatever level we are at, but is obviously a bigger issue for beginners.
I respect people's privilege to hold their beliefs, whatever those may be (within reason), but respect the beliefs themselves? You gotta be kidding!

My YouTube channel
My FB photo albums
Low Bb flute: 2 reels (audio)
Flute & Music Resources - helpsheet downloads
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

This is a very common experience.

Just get on with it, sooner or later it will become routine.