Easier to Play Low Ds?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
crickett
antispam: No

Easier to Play Low Ds?

Post by crickett »

I am wondering whether there are some low D's that are easier to play/learn on than others.

I have been playing high D for a couple of years and have been trying to learn to play the low D. I currently own a Howard and given the size of my hands have no real problem with reach by employing a piper's-type grip. I also don't have problems with breath requirements. But I am still having problems moving from note to note, especially jumping down to a D from higher notes.

Since there is no place to try different whistles where I live, I would appreciate any thoughts you might have about your experiences learning to play low whistles, tips about how to deal with problems, and suggestions about whistles that are harder or easier to play.

Thanks for any suggestions or comments!

p.s. I am open to the idea that I might simply suck and need to practice more on the whistle I have, so don't hesitate to let me know if that's what you think.
john_t

Post by john_t »

I am learning on a Dixon one piece Polymer Low D.

I am very happy with it, only it breaks into the second octave almost too easily.

An affordable whistle with a great tone.
Tommy

PRACTICE

Post by Tommy »

crickett wrote:
I currently own a Howard and given the size of my hands have no real problem with reach by employing a piper's-type grip. I also don't have problems with breath requirements. suggestions about whistles that are harder or easier to play.

Thanks for any suggestions or comments!
My first low whistle was a Howard D, a very fine whistle. Bought it from a member here that must have quit trying to soon. Never saw him again after I bought his whistle.