Ornamentation: Brother Steve vs Grey Larsen

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Guidus
antispam: No

Ornamentation: Brother Steve vs Grey Larsen

Post by Guidus »

Hello there. I'm kind of in trouble and I need some advice.

When I started learning the whistle, I followed the excellent directions by Brother Steve, http://www.rogermillington.com/siamsa/brosteve/. In his view, cuts are done using the G finger on D,E,F, and G, while the B finger should be used for cuts on A and B. It seems that most players employ this pattern.

Enter Grey Larsen and his "The Essential Guide to Irish Flute and Tin Whistle", which I recently bought. Shock horror - a completely different approach: cuts should be done on the note above, i.e. the E finger on D, the F finger on E, the G finger on F, and so on. The rationale is that these cuts sound more crisp.

I tried Grey's recommentations and yes, these cuts do sound better. (If I could do them quickly enough all the time, that is.) But adopting his method would require a total rewrite of my playing habits, and re-learning the few dozens of tunes I painstakingly learnt "the wrong way".

I tend to follow the masters' directions, but this time I really don't fell like going back to square one. Has anyone had this experience? Suggestions?
FJohnSharp
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I used to be a regular then I took up the bassoon. Bassoons don't have a lot of chiff. Not really, I have always been a drummer, and my C&F years were when I was a little tired of the drums. Now I'm back playing drums. I mist the C&F years, though.

Post by FJohnSharp »

I learned it nearer to Steve's method (I lift the A finger to cut A) from a wonderful whistle player near me and IMO, stick with your way. Lots of fine players play that way. The thing I think people would tell you is there is not one ONE RIGHT WAY.
"Meon an phobail a thogail trid an chultur"