Newbie, small hands...

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
pearl grey
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Newbie, small hands...

Post by pearl grey »

Hello, I'm Grace, a newbie to the forum and to the whistle. I haven't had any formal training in ANY wind instrument, so I'm mostly self-taught with my D and Bb whistles. I prefer the sound of my Bb whistle, but my hands get sore so quickly! I have very small hands. Should I just stick with the smaller one since my hands are so tiny? Or is it normal for a beginner to get aching hands? :-? Am I a wimp?
DCrom
antispam: No

Post by DCrom »

Yes, it can be somewhat normal. And you might want to try piper's grip for the Bb whistle.

FWIW, I have medium-sized male hands, and felt the same way about the Howard Low D (huge holes, huge reach, my hands hurt) the first time I encountered one. Learning to use piper's grip took me a few days (mostly because I kept trying too hard - the harder you press, the more it leaks!) but now I find the Low D no problem and am thinking about going lower.

For a Bb, you probably don't need all-out piper's grip, but you may want to try it for your right hand. If you can play with your normal grip, even if your hands complain about it, you shouldn't have any problem at all with piper's grip.
pearl grey

Post by pearl grey »

Thanks Crom. Actually it's more my left hand that hurts. I don't even know what a piper's grip is. :oops: By the way, I work with chemicals at my job and they had to order special XS gloves for me because the regular XS were too big!
DCrom

Post by DCrom »

For pipers grip, there's a good reference on the regular C & F site:

http://www.chiffandfipple.com/pipers.html

For someone with teeny-tiny hands like yours, a Bb may be as much of a stretch as a Low D for someone with bigger hands.