Do flute players prefer whistles with lots of back pressure?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Bretton
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistle for a very long time, but never seem to get any better than I was about 10 years ago. I'm okay with that. :)

Do flute players prefer whistles with lots of back pressure?

Post by Bretton »

I've been learning to play the flute for the past 3 or 4 months after playing whistle for about 4 years.

I'm quickly finding then after long periods of time working only with the flute that when I go back to the whistle I'm really looking for more back pressure than I used to like.

Do others who play flute as well as whistle find this to be true?

just curious...

:party:

-Brett
Dana
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Dana »

Yup. 'Haven't found a whistle with as much back pressure as I'd like. (Any recommendations?)
peeplj

Post by peeplj »

Syn.

--James
feadog39

Post by feadog39 »

Brett, what kind of whistle do you play?
Brendan
Bretton
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistle for a very long time, but never seem to get any better than I was about 10 years ago. I'm okay with that. :)

Post by Bretton »

Brett, what kind of whistle do you play?
I've had quite a few whistles over the years but my current whistles are an Oak body with Retro-Fit Head and a complete PVC whistle, both made by Gary Humphrey. They're both great whistles and have more back pressure than any of the cheaper whistles.

I have a Goldie Overton Alto F whistle on its way to me next week. This will be my first Overton and I'm guessing it will give me some significant back pressure. :)

At one time I had a Grinter high D whistle with lot's of back pressure. I sold it because it was too much work to play, but I bet I'd like it now.

-Brett
brewerpaul
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by brewerpaul »