About Clare whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
theotherleadingbrand
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

About Clare whistles

Post by theotherleadingbrand »

I started playing whistles about 8 or so months ago, and have ordered a whole whack of them to see what I would like. Of all the ones that I've tried, (all pretty cheap) I'm finding I favour the 2pc brass in "d" from Clare. I wanted to get the one piece but it wasn't available at the whistle shop when I placed my order so they substituted. It seems to have a nice balance between the octaves and a well rounded tone, and although I favour it above the others here are some things I've noticed:
The joint no longer wants to hold together. I've even tried wax and plumber's putty, :-? (I'm an idiot) but no dice.
On the two piece, as well as the nickel "d" I own, there is a noticeable tab on the first hole from the fipple. It looks like it may be a bit of flashing from some factory type process, but maybe it is there on purpose for some reason. Can anyone else tell me if they have the same thing?
When I get to the top of its range, the whistle goes from well balanced tone to pissed-off eagle tone, possibly related to the aforementioned tab deal.
Any thoughts on Clare whistles would be enlightening so don't hesitate to share them. Also, does anyone know if Clare makes whistles in other keys or styles?
I changed my mind. Then I found out the new one was smaller and weaker.
Jayhawk
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Well, just trying to update my avatar after a decade. Hope this counts! Ok, so apparently I must babble on longer.

Post by Jayhawk »

I have a Clare 2 piece myself. Mine does not have flashing on the first tone hole - I'd try to gently remove it myself. I had to dull the blade of the fipple a bit on mine, and that really helped the upper octave.