Kerry Pro Low D - Overtones on low notes

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Nismology
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a music teacher and multi-instrumentalist. I had a few whistles in my late teens, and I'm just now getting back into playing them.

Kerry Pro Low D - Overtones on low notes

Post by Nismology »

Hi guys, first post here, pleased to meet you!

I recently got back into whistling after rediscovering my NR Chieftain low F that I got 18 years ago, in the back of a cupboard.

I love this whistle. It's so easy to play, soft to blow and sounds beautiful.

I also have a brass Howard Low D that's around the same age. It's also quite easy to play, but cannot play notes above high B, and I've never really been in love with the sound, or the plastic mouthpiece. I've always wanted a low D all-alloy Chieftain that plays like my lovely NR low F, and I haven't been able to find an NR in low D for sale anywhere. After listening to his various YouTube demos, and finding the V5 a little soft and breathy for my liking, I thought the Kerry Pro sounded amazing. Fat and rich, with a little breathiness, which was exactly what I was looking for.

So I took the plunge after seeing that Phil had a Kerry Pro available, and treated myself.