Onyx vs. Copeland, lower hole sizes

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Onyx vs. Copeland, lower hole sizes

Post by AngelicBeaver »

Here's a conical bore whistle engineering question. What's the relationship between octaves and hole sizes, particularly between the lower notes in each octave? Do larger lower holes help with the balance?

I've got an Onyx by Walt Sweet, and it's very similar to the Copeland low D, but the lower holes are absolutely tiny in comparison (particularly the lowest hole, which is small even for a flute body). The whistle tends to play the bottom three notes flat, and those same notes in the 2nd octave tend to blow sharp. The E breaks very easily in both octaves.

So I'm wondering if opening up the lower holes on the Onyx might help. I mean, the configuration makes the stretch easy, but I wonder if flutes can have this easier hole pattern because they are played with a flexible embouchure, capable of compensating for the tuning issues you'd have with the same pattern on a fixed-embouchure whistle.
Nathaniel James Dowell
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Onyx vs. Copeland, lower hole sizes

Post by Terry McGee »

I'd expect that opening up the lower holes would be likely to sharpen the second octave notes faster than the low octave. Ideally you'd need to "move" the holes down the tube, and then make them bigger.

You mentioned it's conical. Does it taper all the way down to the foot, or flare out for the last 2 inches or so? That's how flute makers over the centuries have dealt with the lowest note being flatter than its octave.