High Ds with minimal impact on lungs/chest

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

High Ds with minimal impact on lungs/chest

Post by Mikethebook »

I suffer with costochondritis, inflammation of the cartilage that joins the ribs to the sternum. Undue stress on the lungs causes the pain to flare up so my whistle playing is limited. Colin Goldie recently made me a very soft blowing small bore Low D that uses very little air but requires only moderate breath pressure to get up to second octave B. I'm now looking for a High D that has similarly low impact on the lungs/chest i.e. low back pressure throughout two octaves but also minimal air requirements. I also have a preference for a quieter whistle although that's not the chief concern. I was thinking about a Burke narrow-bore High D but now I'm led to believe that while air requirements are low, the second octave requires a lot of push. So . . . ideas please. Many thanks.
Moof
Tell us something.: My motto: If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly. (Fortunately, as otherwise I'd never be allowed near a musical instrument.)

Re: High Ds with minimal impact on lungs/chest

Post by Moof »

I have asthma, and the most air efficient whistle I've found thus far is my brass Killarney. Probably only tried half a dozen, though, and it doesn't include Burke. It's a really nice player and the volume is good – bright but not deafening.