Modifying Whistle to get a G#

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
rykirk
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a piper and guitarist who has taken up the whistle and flute. Mostly interested in and playing Scottish baroque and trad.

Modifying Whistle to get a G#

Post by rykirk »

Per the title, I'd like to mod one of my cheap D whistles to play in E mixolydian so I can play pipe music in the lower octave instead of having to play on A (higher, shriller, more crossing the octave break). What would be the simplest way to do so? Would slightly enlarging the tone hole throw off the rest of the scale above it?
JackL
Tell us something.: I have been involved with music starting with piano in 1st grade, switched to organ in 6th grade and minored in music (organ) in college. I have become interested in tin whistle and already have a case of whistle acquisition disease.

Re: Modifying Whistle to get a G#

Post by JackL »

Have you tried closing (from the top) holes 1,2, 4, 5? That flattens the A enough to get a reasonable G-sharp on some of my D whistles. May have to vary the lower hole closures between the upper and lower octave to get a better G-sharp.
rykirk
Tell us something.: I am a piper and guitarist who has taken up the whistle and flute. Mostly interested in and playing Scottish baroque and trad.

Post by rykirk »

JackL wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 3:44 pm Have you tried closing (from the top) holes 1,2, 4, 5? That flattens the A enough to get a reasonable G-sharp on some of my D whistles. May have to vary the lower hole closures between the upper and lower octave to get a better G-sharp.
I've played some whistles that will give a cross fingered G# like a flute, but it's rarely very in tune, especially on cheap high Ds. It's usually way too sharp, and if anything I want it slightly flat for a true just third.
pancelticpiper