Stuck

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Elspeth
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have been playing ITM on the whistle for many years and enjoy it immensely. I’d like to be part of the whistle community.

Stuck

Post by Elspeth »

I recently received two sliver Copland whistles (a high D and high C, left to me by a friend who died not long ago). I have a Copeland brass high D that I rarely play because I just don't like it, but these are lovely whistles. The D is stuck tight, though, and I can't tune it. I've tried the hot water trick to no avail. Any advice? (and did Copeland ever make an untenable whistle?)
“Amuse Often, Provoke Sometimes, Entertain Always”
Cyberknight
Tell us something.: I live in the Boston area and like to play in sessions. I've played whistle for 10+ years and flute for 6 months.

Re: Stuck

Post by Cyberknight »

Elspeth wrote: Thu May 18, 2023 1:49 pm I recently received two sliver Copland whistles (a high D and high C, left to me by a friend who died not long ago). I have a Copeland brass high D that I rarely play because I just don't like it, but these are lovely whistles. The D is stuck tight, though, and I can't tune it. I've tried the hot water trick to no avail. Any advice? (and did Copeland ever make an untenable whistle?)
My instinct is to recommend using WD-40. It's basically the miracle "unstick things" formula, and it's never let me down in any context. I've never used it on a whistle before, but I strongly suspect it would be effective, and it should be perfectly safe (some people even use it as silver cleaner).
Moof
Tell us something.: My motto: If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly. (Fortunately, as otherwise I'd never be allowed near a musical instrument.)

Post by Moof »