Hard blow versus soft blow

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Dougrout
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I’m a novice whistler, and I’m looking for advice and for opportunities to chat with fellow whistlers

Hard blow versus soft blow

Post by Dougrout »

I’m relatively new to the whistle scene (less than a year) but totally engaged in learning to play well on a variety of keys. I recently made a big jump and purchased a Viper low D from Mike Burke. I love the deep, rich sound of the instrument, but I’m having to return it to Mike because I simply don’t have enough lung capacity to play any kind of longer phrase. I’m a senior, and I guess lung capacity is one of those things that just goes on you.

Mike has kindly offered to exchange the low D Viper for a low F instrument which he thinks might suit me, as it will require less air.

I’ve read about hard and soft blowers, but I’m confused as to what that means. Is a soft blower a whistle requiring less air? If so, what suffers as a result? Do others have the same problem? What whistles have you found that work for you? I’m most interested in low whistles (besides the Burke low F I would be interested in a low G and a low A in particular.

Doug
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Re: Hard blow versus soft blow

Post by pancelticpiper »

Yes I played a Burke Low D "viper" and it was the least air-efficient Low D I've tried, and I've tried dozens of different makes.

One cause is that Burkes in general have wider bores than other makes, of a given key. The other cause is how the mouthpiece is made, how much air passes through.

Colin Goldie is a wonderful maker who offers a variety of backpressures. His "medium blower" Low D is the most efficient Low D I've played.