Quiet “discovery”

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
O2jmpr
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I’m interested in leaning more about the tin whistle. I just started playing and found a way to really quiet the whistle and would like to share it and get feedback.

Quiet “discovery”

Post by O2jmpr »

Cheers all,

I’m new here. I just purchased my first whistle (Feadog brass) and immediately found it to be ear-piercingly loud. My wife hates it and I do too! I’ve been researching here and YouTube for how to quiet the beast and tried several of the common ways but today, I’ve discovered the one that works VERY well for me anyway.

It’s to use the strip of cardboard method in the wind way BUT.. to taper it ever so slightly and cant it at angle so that nearest the mouth it’s at one edge and nearest the blade lip it’s centered.
This is the only way I’ve been able to knock the volume down to a whisper but still retain clarity, hit each note and octave cleanly and without squeaking etc. I’ve had a go at rubber bands, Blu tack, strips of paper and fiddled with each for countless hours. Now I’m happy and can play in an adjacent room with the door shut and no one hears a peep.

Also FWIW, I’ve had to use the blue tack on the blade method to clean up the sound at full volume but I’m able to completely remove it when the cardboard wedge is installed.

Forgive me if this is old news and I’ve just missed it but I hope this is helpful for another newb like me.
Narzog
Tell us something.: Can play several instruments at an unimpressive level. Currently most interested in whistling with a side of acoustic guitar.

Re: Quiet “discovery”

Post by Narzog »

My solution to hating high whistles was low whistles. But your option is definitely a lot more affordable. Whatever works!
TxWhistler