Playing Low Whistle Outside

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Flake Brown
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am new to uillean piping but am keen to learn more. I am a big fan of the playing of Johnny Doran!

Playing Low Whistle Outside

Post by Flake Brown »

Ive been a busking musician for many years on the guitar, but would like to try busking with my low whistle. I have a 'fidgin fain' plastic low d whistle, which has a lovely sound, but even the slightest of breezes interferes with the sound, meaning busking with it is out the question. Is it worthwhile me purchading a Cheiftain whistle, or would i encounter the same problem?
sfmans
Tell us something.: I've been a whistle player for over 40 years now, which is a sobering thought. I got started on a battered old Generation D and, well, just never stopped really!

Current gigs are The Powderkegs border morris, the concert band Trebuchet with our music theatre show The Mill Ballads www.themillballads.com, and Welsh dance band Caffl.

Re: Playing Low Whistle Outside

Post by sfmans »

You'll do well to find any low whistle (or indeed high whistle or recorder) that isn't susceptible to the wind when playing outdoors; I've not actually tried a Chieftain outdoors but can't see why their windway design would be any less prone to the wind.

Flutes do slightly better, and piccolos better still (because of the concentrated jet of air) but they're still not immune. I play piccolo for my Morris side and have not been shy about positioning the band in a more favourable position when playing in windy conditions - you'll similarly get far better results by changing your orientation so the wind is behind you, than you will by changing your low whistle ... (but if you're looking for an excuse to justify upgrading your low whistle, I guess this is as good a one as any!)
sfmans