Low Impact Low D

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Low Impact Low D

Post by Mikethebook »

About five years ago with great reluctance I gave up playing the low whistle due to costochondritis, damage to the connecting tissues between the ribs and sternum. I miss it so much and have decided to try again . . . very gently to begin with. I still own my beloved medium blowing Goldie Low D but no way am I going to try playing that yet and so a quiet high D is currently on its way to me from Mack Hoover. I'm hoping that will get me playing again with minimal impact on my chest tissues. But I know I will soon be yearning for a Low D whistle and I'm wondering if there is such an instrument out there that would have minimal impact too, ideally moderate back pressure and low air requirements. Yes, I know they tend to work against one another but if you throw into the mix a narrower bore and a quieter volume (I don't need anyone else to hear me) then maybe it is possible and someone makes one. Any ideas please, a Low D with minimal air requirements AND backpressure?

It may be that I need to set my sights lower (actually higher:)) and go for something like Mack's Low G (he doesn't make anything lower these days) but I would like to check out Low D possibilities before I go down that road.
BigDavy
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Low Impact Low D

Post by BigDavy »

Hi Mike