Who played it best: May morning Dew

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.

Who played it best: May Morning Dew

Davy Spillane
56%
John McSherry
11%
Chris McMullan
11%
Phil Hardy
22%

Total votes: 9

Naturalist
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have been playing low whistle since 2003 and am interested in joining because I would like to be with a community of people who play the same instrument. I live in the United States and don't know anyone else who plays. My interest is to get better and just engage with this community.

Who played it best: May morning Dew

Post by Naturalist »

I can't get enough of this song on whistle. There are four versions of it that I know about. I'm not sure who I think plays it best. Amazing song in all cases. Help me decide. The candidates and their YouTube videos are:

Davy Spillane:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hA8zjXpvAVw

John McSherry:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SsM7zHfl_ZA

Chris McMullan:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onwTW90mLkY

Phil Hardy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVFLQhzBVfY

One day I hope to play it like one of these guys.
Narzog
Tell us something.: Can play several instruments at an unimpressive level. Currently most interested in whistling with a side of acoustic guitar.

Re: Who played it best: May morning Dew

Post by Narzog »

I voted Chris if only because I like the production more (good studio recording). They all played it perfectly in my book so thats all I have left to go on haha.
Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby »

Here's a novelty thought: why not go back to the song itself (you know, sung, by a good singer*) and take it from there?

*Sean Keane will do, for starters
My brain hurts

Sedi
Tell us something.: Practice, practice, practice. You're never too old to learn.
Keep on fluting.
---u---o-o-o--o-o-o--
-----------------------

Post by Sedi »

You mean like this?
https://youtu.be/XR4t_UYuZyA
Or this?