Whistle advice

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
smithjdennis
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Tin whistle player of only a couple years. Long time lurker. I play music full time in a trad celtic quartet in Canada.

Whistle advice

Post by smithjdennis »

Hi community,
I've been lurking for a while but never sought advice yet. I've been cruising lots of threads gleaning partial answers to my question but I'm hoping posting my very specific question/needs might garner some gems of answers. Thanks in advance for any advice.

I've been playing for just 2 years now, and I'm looking for a C-whistle. I started on Susato Killdare's and eventually bought a Burke D wide without having played it (largely due to opinions on this forum). It did not dissapoint and I have been very happy with it. However, on the rare occasions I require a C-whistle, I have still been using my susato and I'm really not happy with it at all - and even less happy with it after playing a Burke. So I'm looking to buy a new C-whistle. There are no whistle stores anywhere near me, so having the opportunity to play several models isn't possible. I'm also not quite ready to buy another Burke (even though I know I would love it) because I use my C so infrequently.

What I really would like is:
- Session volume. Somewhere between Burke D wide and Susato Killdare volume would be ideal
- Not plastic
- Something less "airy/hissy" than Dixon DX006 brass.
- Not mass-made.
- Less dear than a Burke.
- Available for purchase by mail on the north american continent.

Thanks for any tips or advice!
CAMcClellan
Tell us something.: I’m here because I have fallen in love with the sound of the whistle. I play other instruments, but not in public anymore. For me, I play music because I can’t not play music.

Re: Whistle advice

Post by CAMcClellan »