Best Penny Whistle?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
lovelife82
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I’m interested in learning more about the Penny whistle and which is the best one to buy for my budget. Thanks

Best Penny Whistle?

Post by lovelife82 »

Hi,

I’m new to Penny Whistles and was wondering if you could recommend the best one for around the £50 mark? Would like a nice mellow tone if possible.

Thanks

Amanda 😊
fatmac
Tell us something.: Kickbiker - at over 70!
:lol:

Re: Best Penny Whistle?

Post by fatmac »

The best is the one you enjoy playing..... :D

What key do you want - they come regularly from high G to low D.

What material do you want it made of - brass, nickel, aluminium, composite.

What are you looking for in your whistle - easy blower, hard blower, tone, loudness.

As you can see, there are lots of criteria to the 'best'.

But, if you are just starting out, I'd suggest something like a Tony Dixon aluminium, the key dependent on the type of tunes you want to play. :)
Keith.
Trying to do justice to my various musical instruments.
BigDavy
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by BigDavy »

Hi lovelife62
As fatmac says there are lots of factors as to what is "best".

I am an avid eBay scourer, so my advice would be to look for job lots of whistles, make sure you don't overpay.

Fatmac's recommendation - Dixon aluminium body D on eBay.

My suggestion - Job lot of whistles

Given your budget, and making an offer on the Dixon, it is likely that you could get both.

David
Payday, Piping, Percussion and Poetry- the 4 best Ps
Alaskamike
Tell us something.: I just bought a Clarke Sweetone and I’m interested in learning how to play it. My goal is to be able to play the whistle without my family complaining too much.

Post by Alaskamike »