What effect does bore size have

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
learn2turn
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I play mostly my Killary Brass High-D and MK Pro low-D. Also like my Dixon Trad high D and my Dixon Polymer Low-D. I have a bunch of other cheap high-Ds and a few whistles in other keys I dabble with once in a while. Also play some guitar and mando, mostly bluegrass and related folkie Americana. Can't sing for squat. Can pick out chords and simple melodies on a keyboard but that's it; can't really play but it's good for understanding theory.

What effect does bore size have

Post by learn2turn »

I'm a beginner and I was looking at some of my high D whistles comparing bore sizes. I noticed that my Oak slides exactly into my Dixon Trad while my Dixon Trad fits exactly in my Walton Mellow. So now I'm curious. With respect to both sound and playability, what are the effects of bore size? Is there some reference someone can point me to or just post some simple observations on the effect of bore size.
busterbill

Re: What effect does bore size have

Post by busterbill »

Each maker or manufacturer will design a whistle with the bore size, the thickness of the walls, the tube length, the hole spacing and the mouthpiece balanced in relation to each other to give the whistle a decent "voice." Some manufactured whistles are better than others. (Most hand made whistles are thoughtfully made and individually tuned. In the case of hand made whistles there is a lot of time and learning that goes into making. But hand made whistles is a different discussion. Oops.)