Timeline of Whistle Makers?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Timeline of Whistle Makers?

Post by AngelicBeaver »

Hi all, someone posted a video containing a low F from 1992, and it made me wonder if anyone has ever constructed a timeline of the history of whistles, with notable makers and design innovations, and cultural events (i.e. 1997 - Chieftain whistles played by Tony Hinnigan in the "Titanic" soundtrack?

For example, other possible timeline events:

Earliest bone whistles: 30,000+ years ago
Clarke "Flageolets" : 1840
Generation "Flageolets": 1968
Feadog: ?
Walton's:?
Bernard Overton makes the first modern low whistle for Finbar Furey: 1971
Copeland whistles:
Alba whistles:
Chieftain whistles:
Obrien:
Clarke Sweetone:
Goldie takes over for Overton:
Nathaniel James Dowell
Mr.Gumby

Re: Timeline of Whistle Makers?

Post by Mr.Gumby »

Earliest bone whistles: 30,000+ years ago
Clarke "Flageolets" : 1840
Generation "Flageolets": 1968
Feadog: ?
Walton's:?
Bernard Overton makes the first modern low whistle for Finbar Furey: 1971
Copeland whistles:
Alba whistles:
Chieftain whistles:
Obrien:
Clarke Sweetone:
Goldie takes over for Overton
A timeline with obvious enormous holes in it. Many whistles have come and gone over time, in a lot of different places too.

First of all, don't believe everything you read, Generation, for example have been around a lot longer than stated on their website. Likely pre-1900 and certainly long before 1968 and we have the whistles to prove it:

I have seen Feadógs around since the early eighties. And the awful first Sweetone was around by the first half of the nineties.