Starter Whistle/set recommendation?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
jplee3
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Would like to learn more about tin/penny whistles! Just ordered a set (C/D) of Freeman whistles off Ebay - anxiously awaiting them.

Starter Whistle/set recommendation?

Post by jplee3 »

Hey guys,

I ordered a C/D Mellow Dog Freeman set off Ebay but not sure if or when I'll ever see it. That said, if it comes to the point of things getting canceled is there a good alternative in the same price range/quality for a similar set (or individual whistles)?

I'm just starting out here, so not looking for a $100+ instrument... at least not yet or until I actually learn to play and get better :)
Sedi
Tell us something.: Practice, practice, practice. You're never too old to learn.
Keep on fluting.
---u---o-o-o--o-o-o--
-----------------------

Re: Starter Whistle/set recommendation?

Post by Sedi »

I really like the "Oak" whistles or the Feádog "Pro". Another really nice affordable whistle is the Parks "Ghost" whistle. The Waltons "mellow" D is also great (my experience with the standard model was not as good however).
Wanderer

Post by Wanderer »

at a slight price increase (around $30 USD last I checked), the Dixon DX-Trad is a nice and easy place little whistle.
│& ¼║: ♪♪♫♪ ♫♪♫♪ :║
jplee3
Tell us something.: Would like to learn more about tin/penny whistles! Just ordered a set (C/D) of Freeman whistles off Ebay - anxiously awaiting them.

Post by jplee3 »

Sedi wrote:I really like the "Oak" whistles or the Feádog "Pro". Another really nice affordable whistle is the Parks "Ghost" whistle. The Waltons "mellow" D is also great (my experience with the standard model was not as good however).
Thanks for the feedback!

Are these the whistles you're referring to?

Oak:
https://www.amazon.com/Music-Sales-1402 ... 0825603285

Waltons Mellow D: