BPM

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Michael w6
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have played bagpipes for several years. Open heart surgery in 2014 took me out for several months and I have not yet returned. I have begun to pursue the penny whistle instead. I'm looking for advice and friends in this new instrument.

BPM

Post by Michael w6 »

General guides for BPM for various tune types e.g. jigs, reels etc.?
A moment of carelessness, a lifetime of regret.
A lifetime of carelessness, a moment of regret.
PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: BPM

Post by PB+J »

Michael w6 wrote:General guides for BPM for various tune types e.g. jigs, reels etc.?

I use 100 BPM as my baseline, as I understand it 100 is kind of the default. My understanding may be wrong--lots of people play faster, but to me it often sounds bad. I generally like things on the slower side rather than on the speed demon side,
Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby »

As a guide, Breandán Breathnach, in the introduction to the first volume of his Ceol Rinnce na hEirreann collection gives metronome settings for the main tune types:

but really, worry about rhythm and phrasing first and about speed when you get to that point.
Last edited by Mr.Gumby on Fri May 08, 2020 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
My brain hurts

Sedi
Tell us something.: Practice, practice, practice. You're never too old to learn.
Keep on fluting.
---u---o-o-o--o-o-o--
-----------------------

Post by Sedi »

Wow, that is fast!
PB+J