Looking to upgrade

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
custer
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have been learning to play the whistle and my teacher recommended this site to me. I am currently looking to upgrade the whistle I have currently and would like to gather as much info on what other players are using.

Looking to upgrade

Post by custer »

Hello all, I'm new here and could use some advice about choosing a new whistle.
I am a beginner and have been playing for a little while now. I currently play a
tweeked Blackbird. Nice whistle but its not really the sound I am looking for.
I would like to move up to something in the intermediate or advanced range of whistles.
I have been looking at Abell, Impempe, Killarney and some others. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Daeld
Tell us something.: Well, as you can see I have Compulsive Whistle Acquisition Disorder, although I am reforming and I have managed to get rid of a couple.
Location: Escaping from the Whistle Acquisition Disorder Rehab Centre

Re: Looking to upgrade

Post by Daeld »

Welcome to the forum!

As many people will point out, this will largely be a personal choice. In my experience, upgrading was partly based on sound quality and partly on practicality and lately on playability. When I first upgraded from mass-produced whistles, I went for a metal hand-made whistle and then to pvc and delrin. This is because I was worried about not having time to maintain more wooden instruments than I already have.
But recently, I have fallen in love with the sound quality, worksmanship and beauty of wooden whistles.

After all that, may I respectfully make the following suggestions for whistles to look at (depending on what you're after)