Burke vs Chieftain

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Donn
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Burke vs Chieftain

Post by Donn »

:-? I'll probably get a lot of different answers on this one, but which would you prefer and why? Is one easier to play than the other? What about the 2d octave? Read somewhere that if that person were to choose between any whistle, it would be the Burke. Don't know where I read it and who said it.
I'm a beginner and am looking for something beyond the Mellow Dog and Susato.
Thanks
Donn
riverman

Post by riverman »

Congratulations for moving up to a finer whistle! Once you try a custom whistle, you'll never look back! I have never played a Chieftan, but Burkes are sweet, forgiving, moderate in volume, easy in the second octave, unsqueaky, and FINE!
"Whoever comes to me I will never drive away." --Jesus Christ.
Theo

Post by Theo »

riverman wrote:Congratulations for moving up to a finer whistle! Once you try a custom whistle, you'll never look back! I have never played a Chieftan, but Burkes are sweet, forgiving, moderate in volume, easy in the second octave, unsqueaky, and FINE!
Whereas Chieftains take loads of air, are unforgiving and are very loud. They make you nearly pass out trying to hit the high B. But the low Chieftains have that Cosmic Drainpipe effect, which is something my Burke doesn't have. The high ones have a richness of tone as well.

So, in short, it depends a lot on what you're looking for in a whistle! I'd say: Chieftains: loud and rich, Burke: moderately loud and very pure.
jkrazy52

Post by jkrazy52 »