Backpressure 101

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Backpressure 101

Post by Mikethebook »

As a beginner to whistles, I'm trying to understand the results of backpressure, rather than the actual dynamics so that I can buy a second Low D (currently playing a Kerry Optima) but I'm struggling. I understand that high backpressure results in reduced breath requirements and vice versa. Beyond that I've no idea how it affects tone,volume, note dynamics. Given my main desire it to play expressive airs and Spillane/McNally slow pieces should I be choosing high backpressure or what? Can someone please explain how backpressure affects everything else. I'm thinking of going to Colin Goldie to get a low whistle made but want to know more about what i should be asking for.
DrPhill
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Backpressure 101

Post by DrPhill »

I have my theories on this subject, but I am not a physicist, neither am I an expert player nor a skilled whistle maker.

That said, I see it like this: