Only playing 2nd inversions of chords - problem?

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
AbrasiveScotsman
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Only playing 2nd inversions of chords - problem?

Post by AbrasiveScotsman »

This is not whistle related, so feel free to move or even delete. This is the only music forum I'm a member of which is why I'm asking here, but I'll quite understand if it's judged as being off topic.

I've been teaching myself the keyboard for a few months, and I've just realised something a little troubling. The chords I've been learning were pulled from a table at the back of a beginners keyboard book (SFX Instructor Start Playing Keyboard). I don't use "auto chords" and play each chord manually. Lately I've figured out that this book has taught me all non-standard fingerings for chords - specifically 2nd inversions.

The reasons for this are (as far as I can tell) 2nd inversions are an easier hand-stretch for beginners and they make more efficient use of the designated "accompaniment area" on an electronic keyboard. The accompaniment area on my 61 key keyboard only extends as far as the high F on the bass clef, although this can be edited in the settings. The net effect of this is, if I want to use standard fingerings either I'll need to do some weird editing to my keyboard's settings, or I'll need to play the chords very low with the root key of a C major chord being the C just below the start of the bass clef.

Is it OK to stick with the 2nd inversion fingering, or should I retrain myself to use the standard fingerings? For accompaniments and harmonies the keyboard doesn't care - it plays the same things either way. It does cause some minor problems with some more exotic chords, for example when you play an inverted Csus4 the on-screen chord display thinks its playing an Fsus2, but that's just 2 names for the same thing isn't it?

Suggestions?