Is this an old tune or a new tune?

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Is this an old tune or a new tune?

Post by PB+J »

I was listening to David Munnelly--quite the box virtuoso. He has an album coming out with flute player Les Muller. There's a band camp link to the not yet release/was supposed to be released album. I pre-ordered it as I was quite taken with the music

https://davidmunnelly.bandcamp.com/album/dtached

At any rate the first song there is listed as "kildevil-Taylor Hill." At 5:17 it goes into a dance tune which I'm assuming is named "Taylor Hill." But if you google "Taylor Hill" you get an underwear model young enough to be my daughter and a rather undistinguished singer/rapper. Also a "Taylor's HIll" in Galway. I like the song although I'll have to transpose it

Is it an old tune and the name is a puckish reference to the comely Miss Hill? or a new tune?
Mr.Gumby

Re: Is this an old tune or a new tune?

Post by Mr.Gumby »

I think they play stuff they made up themselves, Ies Muller's website suggests they play music for which 'traditional Irish music remains the basis but very much their own [..] full of influences of jazz, Breton and classical music'.

I like the song although I'll have to transpose it
You can play it straight off on a Bflat whistle. The tune made me think of Padraig O'Keeffe's quip 'maybe you should take it outside, you'll have more room to turn it' :P
Last edited by Mr.Gumby on Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
My brain hurts

kenny
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by kenny »