Instrument fashion in Irish music

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Instrument fashion in Irish music

Post by PB+J »

I've been doing a lot of research into the history of Irish music, or perhaps Irish Traditional Music, and I'm struck by the way tastes change. Is it due to technology? for example, people commonly argue that guitar is only really popular after the popularization of steel strings, because that makes it loud enough to hang with other instruments.

Before 1700, the harp is king. Itinerant harpers are the voice and the symbol of Irish music. Then in the 19th century it shifts to the pipes. In Frances O'Neill's day, it's the pipes, the pipes, the pipes and some fiddle. But he laments that piping is dying out, and in the relatively few sessions or workshops I've attended, the pipes have the fewest players.

I'm just wondering what accounts for this. If you think of it purely as a musical tool, the harp has the advantage of being relatively portable and also polyphonic, so it can play melody and harmony at the same time. It's relatively easy to start to play in the sense that the motions of plucking are straightforward. For example any child can walk up to harp and pluck a note, but the same kid would have a much harder time getting anything out of a set of pipes.

The pipes are much more portable, and can play melody and some harmony simultaneously, and they have a closer kinship to the human voice. They're as ancient as the harp, so why was the harp dominant in O'Carolan's day, and then the harp more or less died out in favor of the pipes? (yes I know people still play both)