stylistic difference between old and modern tunes

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

stylistic difference between old and modern tunes

Post by PB+J »

Plugging away, learning a tune a week or so. I set out to learn "the Kesh" and came across Shannon Heaton teaching "The Spring Well," which as she points out is closely related to "the Kesh."

And so I consult my O'Neills and there it is. Charming!

The thing that is nagging at me is the difference between it and versions of the Kesh that I've listened to. I like "the Spring Wells" better, and it seems easier to play to me, maybe: it speaks to a different era? I'm not sure why. The descent to an F# in the first line? The C Nat in the B section? (I find it hard to play the C nat and keep wanting to make it sharp) The less aggressive second register?

Is there a general trend or fad in the evolution of tunes?
benhall.1
Tell us something.: I'm a fiddler and, latterly, a fluter. I love the flute. I wish I'd always played it. I love the whistle as well. I'm blessed in having really lovely instruments for all of my musical interests.
Location: Unimportant island off the great mainland of Europe

Re: stylistic difference between old and modern tunes

Post by benhall.1 »

PB+J wrote:Plugging away, learning a tune a week or so. I set out to learn "the Kesh" and came across Shannon Heaton teaching "The Spring Well," which as she points out is closely related to "the Kesh."