Stupid drone reed question.

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
ennischanter
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: If you flush your toilet 7 times whilst lilting "The Bucks of Oranmore", an apparition of one of the great pipers of old will appear in the mirror, you will be blessed with good reeds, but cursed with bad bags and bellows.

Stupid drone reed question.

Post by ennischanter »

Hi. I am new to Uilleann piping. So be easy on me! This might be a silly question..

In our backyard garden we have tulips growing. At the near-end of spring when the snow has all melted, the remaining stems of the tulips have that reed look. Hard Bark on the outside, and a soft pith in the middle. But it has gotten quite rotten and fragile due to all the snow and stuff.

But I am wondering if it is able to be harvested fresh to dry out, and be used as drone reeds? It looks like it has a desirable size to it.
We musicians are enemies by disposition, so treat every musician you happen to meet, accordingly.

Tradition is not the worship of ashes but the preservation of the flame.
daveboling

Re: Stupid drone reed question.

Post by daveboling »

The only stupid questions are the one's you don't ask, and the one's having to do with spoon playing technique. :P
I think you would find that the wall thickness was a bit thin, and the resiliance of the material would make for a soft-sounding, unstable reed.
But, there's no reason not to give it a go.
I teleported home one night
With Ron and Sid and Meg.
Ron stole Meggie's heart away
And I got Sidney's leg.
-- Douglas Adams

'Bundinn er bátlaus maðu'.
Ted
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Post by Ted »