O'Grady Half Set

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
JamieKerr
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by JamieKerr »

Well,

My Neil O'Grady half set has finally arrived, actually three days short of the estimated delivery date. I'm very new at this, but I am very pleased with the set. While simpler in looks than most sets, it looks pretty good to me - very well finished. It made noise right out of the box (once I put the reeds in). I'm in the process of playing-in the chanter reed. I have to get used to the finger spacing on the chanter, but it's not too different from some of my whistles. I just can't feel the holes as well. I was able to get the drones tuned and sounding pretty good, but until such time as I'm better on the chanter, I'll leave them switched off. One small problem (probably my fault) is that the chanter is slipping easily into the second octave, especially when I go from a to g. I'm also not sure of my bellows technique. I know I am controlling the air with my bag arm, but it seems somehow that I am also controlling with my bellows arm. Any pointers on working on this would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Jamie
Tony
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I used to play pipes about 20 years ago and suddenly abducted by aliens.
Not sure why... but it's 2022 and I'm mysteriously baack...

Post by Tony »

Jamie,
Pump up the bag and apply pressure from the bag to play the pipes. It takes time to develop the technique, but you'll learn to 'ease up' on the bag pressure to allow the bellows to refill the bag while sustaining the drones. Don't overfill the bag to the point where you're driving the pipes from the pressure of the bellows.
Depending on your practice and learning curve, it may take several weeks to be able to hold a single note at will, without any change in pressure.