It is currently Sun Sep 27, 2020 9:15 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 4:45 pm 

Hi folks!

I have a question regarding my tenor regulator(Childress). All of the notes are in tune except for the G. At regular playing pressure, it is quite flat, somewhere not far above an F#. It can be brought up to a G with more pressure than I care to use. Is there any way to stabilize this note? All of the other notes are quite stable.
Thanks!

~Tiarnard

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:56 pm 

I am not an expert, but my tenor reg has the same tendency, namely a flat G, relative to the other notes. One general comment is the need to tune regulators at the same pressure as when chanter and drones are playing, so tune to the chanter with drones on. You may find that this changes your perception of what tuning changes are necessary.

If you have a piston or tuning pin, you may find that moving this helps the tuning of the G. On mine, piston movement to make the G sharper changes the A so I end up in a compromise with the A and the G a little flat. If you can use the piston/pin to bring the G into tune, and the A is now sharp, you can use a rush to flatten the A. If you find that your tuning pin doesn't do much, then you may have to move the reed to bring the G up, and then use a rush to flatten all the other notes, which is not ideal, but it works. When all else fails, make a new reed.....

Hugh

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:48 pm 

Tiarnard,
The amount of filling and its placement on the tuning wire, (it may have moved).
The action of the keys play a part in tuning.
If you prefer to use PM that's fine with me.

Last edited by PeterF on Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 5:52 pm 
Moderatorer

Just to point out, Peter, that you'll need 2 more approved posts before you'll be able to send and receive PMs.

"I remain not entirely convinced of it." - Nano

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:42 pm