uilleann pipe bellows leaking

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
psychih
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

uilleann pipe bellows leaking

Post by psychih »

hi everyone seeking some advice here - i'm new to the pipes and used a borrowed set before. now i have my own, a david daye, but the bellows are leaking. i found out where it was - it's coming out at the seams where the leather is glued onto the wood (i blew some vape into it to see where the smoke came out from). does anyone know how i can tighten this seal? it's really annoying as i can't hold any air. i could play some tunes on the borrowed set before, but not this one. the bag itself isn't leaking, neither is the connector hose.

is it feasible to repair my own bellows?
if i get a new one, is the fit universal to all pipes?

thank you.
PJ
Tell us something.: ......................................................................................................

Re: uilleann pipe bellows leaking

Post by PJ »

Repair is possible. How big is the leak? Ideally, you should glue it from the inside, and them maybe add extra tacks. If you could provide photos/video of the leak, that would help figure out what can be done.

If gluing the leak doesn't work, the next option is to remove the gusset entirely, remove all traces of glue from the gusset and from the bellows paddles, and then reglue and tack the entire gusset again.

Bellows/bag connections are not necessarily one size, if you have to get a new bellows, you might have some plumbing to do.
PJ
elbowmusic
Tell us something.: I'm back in the uilleann piping world after a ten year hiatus. Uilleann piping chops, here I come!

I'm a smallpipe and Border pipe maker and we'll just see where that leads to.

Post by elbowmusic »

Is this new from David? Send it back if it is. Even if it isn't get in contact with him.