Help for a beginner

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
GreffeduFoie
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: New to playing the uilleann pipes. Need all the help and advice I can get. I'm a former Irish dancer and have always loved the instrument.

Help for a beginner

Post by GreffeduFoie »

Hello there,

I'm a complete beginner and am looking for a mentor/some guidance. I recently bought a practice set off eBay and got some reeds. Currently can only get a honking sound like a stepped on a goose. Not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I reached out the maker of the pipes but apparently he is no longer making any due to illness.

I'm in a tiny Alaskan bush town so I'm not near any major cities to take lessons (although even that would be hard to find, considering I picked such an obscure instrument)
RenaissanceGuy
Tell us something.: I am interested in various forms of traditional and folk music. I've been interested in Uilleann pipes for many years. And now I'm finally learning them!

Re: Help for a beginner

Post by RenaissanceGuy »

Welcome! I'm only about five months ahead of you, but here are some points that have been helpful to me.

The operation of the instrument is not as intuitive as other instruments. There is a lot more physical coordination involved. If you can get a sound out of the chanter at all, then that's a start! Don't worry about trying to play any tunes just yet. A good beginning exercise would be to work on sustaining that chanter sound for a longer time period. Seamus Ennis advised starting by just holding the chanter steady and not fingering any of the holes, and squeezing the bag while working the bellows. This will sound a note close to back D.