Waiting for Delivery

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
deltasalmon
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a fan of Irish Traditional Music and am currently looking for advice on how to play the Uilleann Pipes to the best of my ability. I also play the C#/D box.

Waiting for Delivery

Post by deltasalmon »

Hello,

I just ordered a practice set of pipes from David Daye. It'll be a few months until they come so I was wondering what would be the best use of my time to make starting on the pipes easier. I have been playing Irish trad on accordion for a little over 6 years now and know a few tunes. I also have a few tinwhistles laying around the house. Would it be best to start focusing on learning my tunes on the tinwhistle or are the fingerings between whistle and pipes far enough apart that it wouldn't really help? I know the pipes are played with a closed finger style and I'm a big guy and would have trouble stopping the hole at the end of a tin whistle on my knee :D

Cheers,
Sean
fiddlerwill
Tell us something.: I play traditional Irish and Scottish music.
"The beginner should approach style warily, realizing that it is an expression of self, and should turn resolutely away from all devices that are popularly believed to indicate style — all mannerisms, tricks, adornments. The approach to style is by way of plainness, simplicity, orderliness, sincerity."

Re: Waiting for Delivery

Post by fiddlerwill »

Whistle is a good start, " we all learnt to play the whistle first" was a legendary players comment last week in my kitchen.
Personally id echoe the good advice of patsy touhey, who said roughly, that a begining piper should stick to scales and airs for the first 6month and not under any circumstance attempt to play dance tunes at pace.
The mind is like a parachute; it only works when it is open.

Heres a few tunes round a table, first three sets;