New to piping - Best way to long roll back D?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
rglight
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Mostly play uilleann pipes. Full set (chanter, bass and tenor regs from Michael Hubbert, stock, drones, and baritone reg from Brad Angus).
Dabble in flute.

New to piping - Best way to long roll back D?

Post by rglight »

I got a practice set a month or two ago, but I've been playing whistle for several months. I haven't figured out a better way to roll on the back D except to double pat by "rubbing" my thumb on the hole. I don't know if this is right. Are there other (recommended) ways of playing a d-triplet or a long roll on d besides this? Thanks
Tom_S

Re: New to piping - Best way to long roll back D?

Post by Tom_S »

Have a gander at this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=99982

From what I've gathered, some ornaments on the back D can be quite contentious! I quite like the sound of the "tinker's trick" back D triplet but there are other ornaments that are good too like a staccato D triplet or just a simple DCD. Putting some good vibrato while holding a long back D note can also sound good.
PCL

Post by PCL »

The best way is ... don't do it! (Unless you're Paddy Keenan.)
Pyroh

Post by Pyroh »

In addition to previous suggestions, I quite like playing D-ghostD-D instead of a roll in its place.
rglight
Tell us something.: Mostly play uilleann pipes. Full set (chanter, bass and tenor regs from Michael Hubbert, stock, drones, and baritone reg from Brad Angus).
Dabble in flute.

Post by rglight »

Thanks for all the replies. I admit I rather like the d-ghost d-d suggestion, but maybe that's just because I really like the timbre of the ghost d.
JR

Post by JR »

PCL wrote:The best way is ... don't do it! (Unless you're Paddy Keenan.)