Upper Octave Fine (but only Legato)

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
A.C. Fairbanks
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Upper Octave Fine (but only Legato)

Post by A.C. Fairbanks »

Howdy,

I'm a UP Newbie...

At this stage of the game, I can play in the upper octave easily, and with reasonable facility, but only if I play legato, that is, with open fingering.

If I try to move to the upper octave playing staccato, that is, with closed fingering, well, things don't go quite so well. I can sometimes get the upper octave note, but certainly not consistently, and moving to another upper octave note rarely works.

And so, these questions:

Is the upper octave typically easier to manage with open fingering? What might I work on to improve my upper octave success playing with closed fingering?

Sincere thanks for any insights, though good wishes, and prayers are certainly welcome,

A.C.

myles
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Upper Octave Fine (but only Legato)

Post by myles »

What's going wrong, is the chanter dropping to the first octave?

You may well already know this, but the upper octave 'a' and 'b' usually need to be vented with either the index or middle finger of the lower hand - the fingering isn't completely closed. In practice this usually means sliding up into the note.

Getting an effective seal on the holes is essential, this can take a lot of practice. You need to be accurate while keeping the fingers relaxed...something that still defeats me a lot of the time.
An Draighean
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by An Draighean »

A.C. Fairbanks wrote:Is the upper octave typically easier to manage with open fingering?

It mostly depends on the reed and the chanter.